2024 Consortium: Music of India

CBDA is proud to parter with two different composers this year in our latest consortium project titled: Music of India for Wind Band.

Signup to be a part of this year’s consortium here!

Title: Sandhya | An Evening Raga for Concert Band
Composer: Aakash Mittal
Grade Level: 2.5
Duration: 4 min.
Instrumentation: Standard Concert Band
(optional: oboe, bassoon, bass clarinet, bari sax, horn, string bass, tabla)
Buy-In: $150 (due by December 1, 2023)
Delivery: Electronic PDFs (January 31, 2024)

About The Piece:
Sandhya will explore the sounds of the Hindustani (North Indian) raga Poorvi with the colors and instrumentation of the concert band. Rather than imitate the traditional performance format of a Hindustani raga, the piece will incorporate sounds of modern Indian life. The soft ringing textures of bells in Pushkar, Rajasthan and the rhythmic backbeats omnipresent in Kolkata’s night clubs will be interwoven with melodic and harmonic material seeded by raga Poorvi. Sandhya will celebrate the many ways we greet the sunset ranging from Indian pooja rituals, to all night music festivals and the meditative pathos of the evening raga.
Composer’s Works for Winds: https://www.windrep.org/Aakash_Mittal

Title: Untitled | An Original Work Based On Tamil Music & Culture
Composer: Shruthi Rajasekar
Grade Level: 4
Duration: 5 min.
Instrumentation: Standard Concert Band
Buy-In: $150 (due by December 1, 2023)
Delivery: Electronic PDFs (January 31, 2024)
About the piece:
This original work, yet to be titled, is based on the culture and musical heritage of the Tamil people of Southern India. The Tamil people represent ~6% of modern-day India (concentrated in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry) and sustain their own unique language, religious and cultural practices, and music in the carnatic tradition.
Composer’s Works for Winds: https://www.windrep.org/Shruthi_Rajasekar