Don Schmeer Friend of Music Award

2023 Award Recipient – Vince Keenan

The CBDA Don Schmeer FRIEND OF MUSIC AWARD is an annual recognition bestowed on an individual or organization who has demonstrated a history of promoting band music education in California. Recipients of this award have gone above and beyond a common calling to serve the fine art of music in the name of increasing, supporting, and spreading the love and joy of music to students in scholastic areas. Past recipients include music education advocates, industry professionals, university educators, a California Governor, music lobbyists, and others.  

The award is named for Don Schmeer, a music educator, US Army musician (serving in Korea), and a strong advocate for music education in California from the 1960s to the 1990s.  Many of us knew him from his decades managing the Byron Hoyt music store in San Francisco.  This award recognizes his life-long impact on our profession.  

This award is bestowed by the CBDA Board of Directors, which recognizes that music teachers are not islands.  It is only with help from our communities that we can truly succeed in reaching ALL of our students in meaningful and lasting ways.  This is meilleure replique rolex explorer ii polar 40mm cadran blanc en acier inoxydable et lunette en acier 16570w the goal of CBDA and it is why we recognize those who have given their time, expertise, and passion to help music educators in California.   

2023 Vince Keenan Shaghoian Concert Hall Technical Director
2022 Nick Estrada Gottschalk Piano
2021 None None
2020 Sonya Menapace Fresno CVB
2019 Dr. Matthew Darling California State University Fresno
2018 Doug Steinmetz Yamaha Corporation of America
2017 Lynne Faulks CBDA/CMEA Lobbyist
2016 Deborah Gibbs CEO/Owner – World Projects
2015 Dr. Gary P. Gilroy California State University Fresno
2014 Robert Long Doubletree Fresno (formerly Radisson)
2013 Kirstine Alexander The California Arts Projectsee this here
2012 Bob Lutt Cazadero Music Camp
2011 Richard Kirk Music Industry
2010 Dave and Monika Strand We Care! Coffee Company
2009 Glenn Roberts Music Industry
2008 Nick Rail Music Industry
2007 Arnold Schwarzenegger Governor, State of California
2006 Kirby Fong CBDA Photographer
2005 Jim Hart Music Industry
2004 John Larreiu CMEA Executive Director
2003 Bob Ward Music Industry
2002 Max McKee American Band College
2001 Dr. Tim Lautzenhiser Music Educator/Speaker
2000 Paul Noll Music Industry
1999 Carolyn Lindeman Past President of CMEA
1998 Delaine Eastin State Superintendent of Public Education
1997 Gordon Shaw 1997 UC Irvine “Mozart Effect”
1996 Henry Use LACAE Cal Coalition for the Arts
1995 Karl Bruhn NAMM
1994 Don Schmeer Music Industry