David Goedecke Lifetime Achievement Award

2023 Award Recipient – Steve Acciani

The Dave Goedecke Lifetime Achievement Award honors a California band director who has exhibited a lifetime of achievement in music education at the state level. The Lifetime Achievement Award may be given posthumously. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually at the CBDA Annual Banquet at the California All State Music Educators Conference.

Nominees for the Dave Goedecke Lifetime Achievement Award must demonstrate outstanding contributions in all the following areas:

Years of Distinguished Service. The award is for lifetime achievement rather than for a single contribution, no matter how monumental. Nominees should have a minimum of 25 years of distinguished service to music education.

Categories of Distinction. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented for achievement in leadership, teaching, and service. Distinction in these categories can be demonstrated through:

  • Performance of the nominee on the job;
  • Service beyond the requirements of the job at the state level;
  • Outreach which has improved music education in nominee’s district, region, state, through outstanding music program or leadership to additional music educators.
  • Service to California music education such as: service organization offices held, committee memberships, special projects, meetings, publications.
  • Evidence of service in leadership roles in all of the following areas:
    • Institutional
    • Local and state
  • Highly regarded as an exceptional mentor and role model by professional colleagues


2023 Steve Acciani Diamond Bar High School
2022 Cheryl Yee Glass San Ramon Valley High School
2021 None None
2020 Dr. Eric Hammer University of the Pacific
2019 Michael Hipp Retired Music Educator
2018 Greg Christiansen Golden Valley High School (Merced)
2017 Lisa Butts CBDA/CAJ Past President, Hanford West HS
2016 Ella Webb Retired Music Educator
2015 Timothy Smith Retired, California State University East Bay
2014 John Larrieu Music Educator
2013 Dr. Thomas Lee Director of Bands Emeritus, UCLA
2012 Dr. Edward Harris Director of Bands, San Jose State University
2011 Robert Halseth Director of Bands, Sacramento State University
2010 Warren Torns Director of Bands, Mt. Carmel High School
2009 William Johnson Director of Bands, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
2008 Bill Hill Retired Music Educator, Past President
2007 Tom Cole Director of Bands, Rancho Bernardo High School
2006 Duane Weston Director of Bands, College of the Sequoias
2005 Bill Schneider Retired Band Director
2004 Frank “Buck” Shaffer Director of Bands, Porterville High School
2003 Lyle Stubson Music Educator/Former Board Member
2002 Margaret Neu Music Educator, Davis Public Schools
2001 Burl Walter Director of Bands, Reedley High School
2000 Larry Sutherland Director of next Bands, CSU Fresno
1999 Joe Foster Music Educator/Past President
1998 LeRoy Roach Music Educator/Former Board Member
1997 Dave Goedecke Music Educator
1996 Bill Crane Music Educator
1995 Sylvester McElroy Music Educator
1994 Steve Connoly Music Educator
1993 Ralph Bredenberg Music Educator