Distinguished Service Award

2023 Award Recipient – Ali Gilroy-Golden

Distinguished Service Award Criteria:

  • Selfless service to the California Band Directors Association, and it’s activities
  • Continuous support of Music Education in California
  • Continuous support of the California All-State Music Educators Conference and it’s affiliated organizations
  • Continual efforts in mentoring other music educators in the state
2023 Ali Gilroy-Golden CBDA Board Member/CASMEC Coordinator
2022 Mike Gangemi (DONATE towards Scholarship fund here) CBDA Board Member/Santiago HS
2021 None None
2020 Rob van Loben Sels CBDA Audition System Creator
2019 Steven Accatino CBDA Treasurer
2018 Kirk Clague Former CBDA Exhibit Host/Exeter Union HS
2017 Brandon Price CBDA Past President/Mark Twain JHS
2016 Rowland Nielson Retired/CBDA Board Member
2015 John Burn CBDA Past President
2014 Dan Okamura Madera Unified School District
2013 Paul Lucckesi Director of Jazz Studies, Buchanan HS
2012 Michael D. Stone CBDA President
2011 Norman Dea CMEA President
2010 Don Wersky CBDA Webmaster 2000-2009
2009 Dr. Gary P. Gilroy Director of Bands, CSU Fresno
2008 Dave Green CMEA Band Representative
2007 Scott Grady JW Pepper and Son Music
2006 Lisa Butts Convention Host
2005 Roxanna Macheel CBDA Past President
2004 Mike Corrigan CBDA Past President
2003 John Abigana CBDA Past President
2002 Meryl Wamhoff Convention Host
2001 Mark Troxell Byron Hoyt Sheet Music Service
2000 Michael Doty CBDA Past President
1999 Marty Baum CBDA Past President
1998 Art Holden Past Board Member
1997 Edie Easterby Music Industry
1996 Burl Walters Past Board Member
1995 Ty West CBDA Past President
1994 Jack Hagopian Music Industry
1993 Bob Flentge CBDA Past President
1993 Duane Weston CBDA Past President
1992 Tony Mickela CBDA Past President
1991 Joe Catanesi Music Industry
1990 Bill Hill CBDA Past President
1989 Lyle Stubson CBDA Past President
1989 Jerry Kirkpatrick CBDA Past President
1989 Ron Jones CBDA Past President
1988 William Crane, Jr CBDA Past President
Don Schmeer Byron Hoyt Sheet Music Service
Joe and Donna Foster CBDA Past President
Leroy Darling First President of CBDA